Chez l'abeille

Culture. Travel. Writing. My world in words and pictures

Mirror, Mirror

1 Comment

Sometimes things just happen. That, I guess is what constitutes a happening. The arrival of a mirror maze in Peckham for one weekend only is always going to be a happening. Add that it’s in the Copeland Park/Bussey Building’s achingly hip enclave and it is always going to be up there in the zeitgeist.

I’m not going to write a lot about the background to the work – there’s a really decent article by Creative Review, which tells you everything you need to know. Briefly, the work is by Es Devlin who has a background in stage design. It’s exploring scent, memory and identity. It’s created in partnership with i-D and Chanel to celebrate creativity from women in arts and culture aross the world.

What it actually is: a really fabulous, immersive, mesmerising artwork!

I’m glad I went down early on the opening day as I think visitors would be queuing round the block by the end of the weekend as word spread. By the time this post goes out it will all be over, but that I suppose is what makes it the best kind of memory – a transient moment of total magic.

©Chez l’abeille  2016

 

 

One thought on “Mirror, Mirror

  1. Stupid wordpress won’t let me comment unless I share my whole life history, my swiss bank account details and the map I found for buried treasure on a secret island somewhere in offshore Devon…

    So I’ll say it here:

    Like

    The girl in the red top has stolen my hair. When will she let me have it back?

    ________________________________

    Like